Community Involvement Bursaries for Students in the MD Program (99925)

Community Involvement Bursaries for Students in the MD Program


Combine several scholarships based on financial need and community involvement that are specifically intended to the Faculty of Medicine – for students in the MD program. This bursary will make the application process faster and easier for the students.

This application will allow students to be eligible for the following scholarships:

  • Bociek Family Scholarship Fund (752220101286);

  • Dr. Hyman Donnenfeld Scholarship (752220101132);

  • Hilda Rebecca Dungy Memorial Scholarship (752220101168);

  • John F Seely Scholarship (752220101169);

  • Rachel Waugh Anaesthesia Scholarship Fund (752220101259).


    Eligibility Criteria

    The applicant must:

1. be a Canadian citizen, a permanent resident, a person of protected/refugee status;

2. be an Ontario resident, as per OSAP (Ontario Student Assistance Program) rules;

3. be registered full-time as an undergraduate student to the MD program at the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Ottawa;

4. demonstrate financial need, as determined by the Financial Aid and Awards Service of the University of Ottawa; and

5. Have demonstrated involvement and leadership in their community

Value of the award: Variable

Number of awards: Variable

Frequency of the award: Annual

Level or program of study: Undergraduate

Application contact: Financial Aid and Awards Service

Application deadline: October 31


Applications must be made through Online Scholarships and Bursaries, which can be accessed through, and should include:

1. the Financial Questionnaire;

2. the Curriculum Vitae on Online Scholarships and Bursaries;

3. A letter from the applicant describing his/her volunteer involvement and leadership in the community; and

4. A letter of attestation confirming your involvement in the community.